Real Life Word Problem

Forget about two trains leaving the station and traveling toward each other. Learning to solve this kind of problem in school would have some definite real life application!

You arrive home from grocery shopping with a 5 year old, a 3 year old and a 5 month old. The 2 older children have gotten carsick on the ride home. They, their hair, and their seats are fairly covered with vomit. You have frozen, but rapidly thawing, groceries in the back of the minivan, which does not have a good air conditioner. It is 77 degrees outside. The baby is screaming, because he is hungry, wet and tired. (You are bottle feeding, so nursing while you take care of other things is not possible.) In which order do you take care of things?

In my case, I am very, very thankful for my Dad, who was home and immediately stepped in to help out.It was all solved quite quickly and was just a small blip in the middle of a quite wonderful day! He unloaded groceries while I started heating a bottle and getting a bath ready. Then he hung onto Monkey Man while I threw all of the frozen groceries in the freezer and did a super quick wash down of the girls. Without his help, I would have had to leave the baby screaming and/or the girlies icky for a bit.

Even if that happened, we’d all be fine today. I’m trying to learn to laugh at these kinds of things when they happen instead of being all grouchy and overwhelmed when I know that I’ll laugh about it later anyway. Today, it worked. My Beloved called right in the middle of it, and he laughed, because he could hear the humor in my voice. How much better for Mama to take these kinds of things with a smile, even a wry one, instead of furrowed brows and a sharp word. Praying that I remember that next time!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chautona
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 12:59:39

    Oh… those days… you have to laugh or cry… and for those of us who just don’t cry, well… 😉 Glad you got through it. UGH. Vomit. I think maybe I would have cried after all…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

