Breakfast Popsicles, or Shortcut to SuperMom Status!

Being a Mom is a really tough job some days, and Moms are often unappreciated. I admit that I love it when something happens that makes my kids think I am SuperMom, even though it usually doesn’t require leaping tall buildings in a single bound. It’s almost always something simple and wonderful – like letting them dance outside in the rain in their Sunday dresses, making paper party hats just because they asked if they could, or whipping up some cute felt finger puppets and letting them vote on the features. Here is one idea that is guaranteed to make your kids think you are Super Mom – or your money back! Popsicles for breakfast!

Of course, serving your kids frozen sticks of sugar and artificial colors and flavors first thing in the morning may not make for a very good day, but I have a better idea! Yogurt Smoothie Popsicles.

My kids love smoothies, and I don’t make them often enough. I don’t even really measure, just throw some things in a blender until it tastes pretty good. But I’m lousy at making the right amount, so we’re either running short and no one gets their fill, or I have tons left over. I tried freezing it and scooping it out like ice cream, but it was more like scooping concrete. Not going to work. Meanwhile, they were begging for ice pops to eat while playing outside, since our weather here is nearly always somewhere on the spectrum of warm to unbearably hot. Suddenly, I had an idea – freeze the smoothies in popsicle molds!

This is another super flexible recipe. More of an idea or a process, really. Throw in certain key ingredients, then add whatever you like that is on hand! I’ll give you the one that has been a favorite here, and you can run with it.

  • 1.5-2 cups milk
  • 2 cups yogurt (we like Vanilla or Strawberry. Greek yogurt is great, too, but you’ll need to increase the milk)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (it’s fine to omit this or add more)
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2 T sugar

I’ll tell you what works for me, but you can do whatever works for your blender.

Start with 1.5 cups of milk – we use 1% – in the bottom of a blender. Add the protein powder, if using, and blend until well mixed. Add the frozen berries, and pulse until there are no large chunks and the mixture turns a lovely shade of pinky purple. (If the strawberries are whole, I usually smash them quite a bit first. That’s hard to do if they are frozen solid. I prefer to buy fresh berries, chop them up, then freeze the chunks. You could even do one recipe’s worth in a baggie and just pull that out and dump it in!) The frozen berries freeze the milk and make it quite thick. You may have to add more milk to loosen it enough for the berries to get to the blades. Add the sugar and pulse a few times. Add the yogurt and blend thoroughly, pouring in more milk a few tablespoons at a time if necessary for the smoothie to blend well. When the mixture is nice and blended, pour into popsicle molds and freeze overnight. I have 3 molds that I got for a few dollars each. Each one has room for 4 popsicles, about 1/4 cup each. This recipe fills all of them with some leftover. If you don’t want to serve the “leftover” in cups with straws right away, you can pour it into small paper cups, freeze for about an hour, then pop in a wooden stick. I let them freeze overnight. Don’t get in a hurry – if they’re not thoroughly frozen, the sticks will come out and leave all the popsicle goodness in the mold with no good way to get it out. If you don’t have molds, you can just use the cups. Run the molds or the cups under warm water for a few seconds to release them.

Sometimes, especially if I don’t use protein powder, I add a splash of vanilla. The kind of fruit or berries doesn’t really matter.  It’s easy to find a mix of frozen berries – usually blackberries, raspberries, strawberries and/or blueberries. Sadly, my younger daughter had a bad reaction to blackberries when she was a toddler, so we avoid them for her sake. She may have grown out of that, but we haven’t been willing to try it yet. Other yogurt flavors or frozen fruits would be fine, too. I’m sure peach would be lovely! Feel free to toss in other ingredients. I’ve added a few leaves of fresh spinach at the beginning. No one noticed, and I loved sneaking in those extra nutrients. I’m sure a banana would be delicious. I think these would be good without the yogurt, if you didn’t have it on hand, and a banana would help keep the texture from being a bit icier. I’ve use a splash of juice in place of some of the milk, and I’ve used Stevia instead of sugar. Some day, I’ll try making simple syrup and adding that instead of sugar. It should work to make the pops a little creamier and less icy. If you’re dairy free,  you can make some delicious pops with just frozen fruit and juice. The versatility of this idea is one of its best features!

My girlies went bonkers the first time I gave them popsicles for breakfast. They could hardly believe it. I knew they were getting something healthy, but they thought they were just being spoiled. My girls have big appetites in the morning, and will often eat 2 or even 3 if I let them. Since that’s equivalent to about 1/2-3/4 cup of smoothie, it doesn’t bother me a bit! These popsicles also make great snacks. I love that I can whip them up during the afternoon and have a whole week’s worth, and I only have to wash the blender once!

What flavors do you want to try? Are there other healthy ingredients that you’d like to add? And what color cape will you wear once your kids declare you SuperMom?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennirific
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 12:31:26

    We make frozen yogurt pops here for hot days, but I never thought to make breakfast smoothie pops! What an awesome idea 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

