All Aflutter

 I made this card for a sweet, wonderful woman who is battling breast cancer. She and her husband were my Sunday School teachers for a year or two in high school *mumble, mumble* years ago. They are dear to me, and I wanted to do something to let them know how much I care about their family. I hope she can put this somewhere where she will see it and have a tangible encouragement and reminder that people are praying for her, and that God upholds her.

I’m discovering that I have an affinity for butterflies. They are so beautiful, and I think they are a very versatile embellishment. They work in a wide variety of colors and moods. The colors on this aren’t quite right in the photo. I’m still working on my editing skills. They’re a bit softer, particularly the batik-y piece with the sentiment.

I have not been in the habit of keeping track of the specific papers, inks and embellishments that I use. I am new to sharing my work with others in the online community, so it may take me a while to get the hang of it. Please bear with me! Here’s what I do know: For this card, I used solid lavender cardstock for the base. I cut all of the shapes with my Silhouette.  The swirls are in a very thick metallic silver canvas textured cardstock. The background oval is a purple-tone on-tone scroll print. The sentiment and background of the butterflies is in a lovely watercolor/batik print. The matte for the sentiment and the butterfly details are in solid black cardstock. I embossed the black part of the butterflies by rubbing Versamark all over them with a sponge and adding clear glitter embossing powder that I have from like 20 years ago when I bought my first embossing kit at the buy it barn at the Stock Show! I added brads to the sentiment and clear rhinestones.

I think this is my favorite card that I have ever made. I plan to make more, and other variations of it. I think it would be a nice one to have on hand. It would be easy to make it up with a variety of sentiments and color combinations, and I think it’s really quite nice without taking immense amounts of work with specialty techniques.

What other sentiments or occasions do you think would fit this card? What sentiments do you recommend to encourage someone in the midst of a serious illness?

Leave a Reply

