Sweet Baby Girl Card

I was so very proud of this one when I made it. I designed some of these shapes myself – the onesie, the little lace edging on the neckline and sleeves, and the delicate scalloped circle. It’s hard to see in the picture, but this is a tri-fold. The yellow portion is a bottom flap, and the pink gingham folds down over it. The circle embellishment overlaps to help keep it closed. It’s a great design if you want to make a nice, long note inside. If not, it can leave a lot of empty space, so consider carefully how wordy you are feeling, or how big your handwriting is!

I like the colors on this one. Pink has grown on me a lot since having my first baby girl almost 6 years ago, but it’s still not my favorite color. I like it quite well in certain combinations, especially bolder, slightly funky colors. I think it’s fun and it adds a little punch to what can otherwise be a little too sweet for my usual tastes. (I want to say that it would be a bit ‘twee,’ because this is my newest favorite British word that I wish we used in the US! Chuffed is another.) If I ever put those little hearts on the banner again, they will be in a color with more contrast to the background, or I’ll ink the edges. They annoy me without that touch. I think some dimensional adhesive would really give this card some life and take away the very flat feeling. So, even though I like this one, I see lots of potential for improvement!

I should make a list of all of the cards that I want to do again, but better. That could keep me busy for a while, but I think I’d enjoy seeing how my style and techniques have progressed. What do you think? Make it a mini-series in the future?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. variationcreations
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 19:15:19

    Love this cute card.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

